Washington Township - 1779
Township CodeCalendar

13013 Welty Rd, Waynesboro, PA 17268

Phone: (717) 762-3128

Fax: (717) 762-1775

Mon-Fri 8:00 am - 4:30 pm


Board of Supervisors



C. Stewart McCleaf  Chairman stewartmccleaf@comcast.net
Chad Reichard – Vice Chairman – reichard.washtwp@gmail.com
Charles Strausbaugh – Supervisorcstrausbaugh@pa.net

Elaine Gladhill – Supervisor – gladhillsupervisor@yahoo.com

Barbara A. McCracken – Supervisor – barbaramccracken@comcast.net
Jeff Geesaman –  Township Manager jbg@washtwp-franklin.org
Karen Hargrave – Township Secretary – ksh@washtwp-franklin.org
John Lisko – Township Solicitor

Martin & Martin – Engineers

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of Washington Township. Board members are elected officials and are elected to staggered six (6) year terms. Board members combine legislative and executive roles as they both enact the township ordinances and are responsible for the administration of the township government. The supervisors derive their authority from the Pennsylvania Second Class Township Code available for reference on-line.

Regular Supervisor Meetings are held on the first and third Mondays of the month (except when a holiday falls on a Monday – that meeting would normally be held the following Wednesday evening).

Supervisor Workshop Meetings are held the Wednesdays prior to the normal Monday meetings.

All Township Meetings are open to the public and begin at 7:00 p.m. in the Washington Township Municipal Building Meeting room located at 13013 Welty Road, Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, 17268.

If you have business to be placed on the Washington Township Supervisors meeting agendas, you may contact the township staff at the Township Municipal Office, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at 717-762-3128. All submitted agenda items must be at the township office no later than 4:00 p.m. on the Friday before the regular business meeting and no later than 4:00 p.m. the Tuesday before the workshop meeting.

Regular business and workshops are both official supervisor meetings. Workshops differ in that they are mostly devoted to in-depth presentations and relevant material review while regular business meetings pay invoices, award bids for both township purchases and sales and approve submitted zoning and subdivision applications. All supervisor meetings start with a Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag followed by an open forum for citizen comments from the floor.


Streets / Public Transportation – Stewart McCleaf & Chad Reichard
Police / Drug Task Force – Elaine Gladhill & Charlie Strausbaugh
WTMA / Utilities – Elaine Gladhill & Barb McCracken
Parks / Train – Charlie Strausbaugh & Barb McCracken
Recycling / Transfer Station – Stewart McCleaf & Barb McCracken
Equipment / Technology –  Stewart McCleaf & Chad Reichard
Planning & Zoning – Elaine Gladhill & Charlie Strausbaugh
Emergency Management – Elaine Gladhill & Chad Reichard