WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP NEWSLETTER February 2014

From the Supervisors: We would like to thank Randy Kuhn one more time for his 27 years of service to the Township on the Township Planning Commission. When you see Randy thank him for his outstanding service to our community.

In addition, we would like to thank Stephen Kulla for all his hard work as a Township Supervisor the last six years. When your see Steve, thank him for his outstanding service to our community as well.

Change in Township Supervisor – On January 6, 2014 C. Stewart McCleaf started his 6 year term as a Township Supervisor. When you see Stewart wish him good luck with his new position.

New appointments to the Planning Commission and WTMA – On January 6, 2014 the Township Supervisors appointed Joe Price to the Planning Commission in place of Randy Kuhn and Andrew Geesaman to the WTMA in place of John Blair. When you see these men wish them good luck with their new positions and thank Mr. Blair for his service to the Township on the WTMA.

Boards and Committees: The Township would like to thank the following individuals who agreed to serve our community in 2014 on one of our various Boards/Committees. We are very fortunate to have so many talented people willing to serve. When you see these individuals please take a minute to thank them for helping to make Washington Township the great place it is to live and work.

Agricultural District Committee: Vernon M. Fox, Alan Frantz, Jeffrey Geesaman, Jack Martin and Scott Stine.

Battle of Monterey Pass Historian – John Miller

Emergency Management: James Meek, Coordinator, and Steve Swope, Assistant Coordinator.

Happel's Meadow Wetland Advisory Committee: Denny Bingaman, Jeffrey Geesaman, Doris Goldman, Bret Robinson, Frank Shockey, William Smith, Randall Sprenkle and Cheryl Deal.

Impact Fee Advisory Committee: Gary F. Bercaw, Robert Correll, Paul Gunder, Gale Krawczak, Ronald McKinney, Jason Piatt, and Samuel Welty, Sr.

Planning Commission: Chris Firme, Jay Heefner, Kyle Hess, Elena Kehoe, and Joe Price.

Red Run Park Train Committee: Charlie Strausbaugh, Stanley Barkdoll, Dennis Carbaugh, Pat Edwards, Linda Fleagle, Dean Hebb, Jean Kahl, Brian Sease, and James Utley.

Vacancy Board: Charlie Strausbaugh.

Washington Township Municipal Authority: Fred Eisenhart, Andrew Geesaman, Elaine Gladhill, David McCarney, and Stewart McCleaf.

Zoning Hearing Board: Andrew Rovelstad, Lee Thomas Sebold, and S. Allen Stine.

If you are interested in learning more about one of these positions or if you are interested in serving the township in some other manner please feel free to contact the township office at your convenience at 762-3128.

The Antietam Meadow Park Committee and the 9-11 Tribute Committee were made inactive in 2014. If you see any members of these former Committees thank them for a job well done.

Zoning Code Amendments: On Monday, January 20, 2014 the Washington Township Supervisors adopted Ordinances 244, 245 and 246 which will amend the Township's Zoning Code.

- Ordinance 244 changed the zoning of 13 properties along Old Route 16 from 'R-1' Low Density Residential to 'C' Commercial. The addresses of the properties changed are 11438, 11440, 11456, 11480, 11482, 11532, 11546, 11548, 11582, 11596, 11598, 11600, 11632 Old Route 16.
- Ordinance 245 changed the text of the Zoning Chapter regulating signs. The Supervisors also adopted **Resolution 582** which amended the fee schedule for sign installations in the Township.
- Ordinance 246 changed the text of the Zoning Chapter in the Forest Conservation District to permit the raising of chickens as a permitted use. In addition, it revised the regulations concerning greenhouse placement in the Township.

To read the full text of these Ordinances please either go to the Townships webpage at www.washtwp-franklin.org and follow these directions: choose the **BLUE TAB** on the left, click on **Online Documents** then go to **Ordinances** listed under **Zoning & Rezoning** or stop by the Township office.

Tax Collector News: Please remember the Township's tax collector new hours in 2014. He is now open Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 9:00 am to noon all year long. In April & August he has expanded hours. Please look at your tax bill for his hours of operation or call 762-1760.

Police Department Alerts: If you would like to receive Washington Township Police Department alerts on your computer or cell phone please register at www.nixle.com. If you have any questions, please contact the Washington Township Police Department at 762-1447 during regular business hours.

Earned Income Tax Reminder: If you are a Township resident and you work out of state or are self-employed you have to make quarterly earned income tax payments to the Franklin County Area Tax Bureau in Chambersburg. If you are currently not making

these payments you should call 717-263-5141 to get your payment paperwork for year 2014.

February Dates to Remember

- **3:** Supervisors Meetings, 7:00 p.m.
- **4 & 18:** WTMA Meetings, 7:15 p.m.
 - **10:** Planning Commission Meeting, 7:00 p.m.
- 12 & 26: Supervisors Workshop Meetings, 7:00 p.m.
 - 17: President's Day: Township Office & Tax Office will be CLOSED. Transfer Station & Recycling Center will be OPEN.
 - **19:** Wednesday Supervisors Meeting, 7:00 p.m.
 - 24: Zoning Hearing Board, if needed, 7:30 p.m.